The 99 or the 1?

Posted: June 6, 2012 in Uncategorized

I’ve been thinking an awful lot lately about all of the people that God has put in my life.  These include people within my family, within my church and within my life as a whole.  Every single one of them is important to God and ought to be more important to me.  That’s the problem…that’s what I’m thinking a lot about…that’s the subject of this blog.

A few weeks ago we did a sermon in our church about the shepherd who went after the one lost sheep.  He left the 99 that were found to find the one that was lost.  That’s a concept in and of itself that really isn’t conventional wisdom.  Who would leave 99 perfectly good sheep to go after one that is somewhere in the hills, maybe even one that wandered off itself.  I felt so convicted when I was preaching this sermon.  It’s much easier to tell others to do this than to do it myself.

Let’s face it, we love hanging around with the “found”…with our peeps…the ones that are just like us…that accept us and look just like us…that know our language, our likes and dislikes.  I’m comfortable with my people…the found, just like me.  But I have forgotten that I haven’t always been found.  In fact, just being considered “found” means that I once wasn’t…I once was lost.

The interesting thing about this parable (and the one that follows about the woman who swept her house clean to find that one lost coin) is that the statistics are wrong.  99% is where we want to put our energy.  No one thinks of a dime, when they have a dollar.  This is what we are taught and how we end up living our life.  But it all comes back around when we realize that the lost sheep is us..we were the 1%.  The lost coin is us, just worth a fraction.

Here in New Hampshire the lost sheep and the lost coin are more in the 80%-90% range which could even make it harder for us to go to them.  When we become such a tight knit group and become comfortable, it’s even more difficult to seek those who are pretty easy to find.  They are all around us.  We don’t have to get down on our hands and knees and sweep the whole living room clean to find that coin.  We don’t have to journey that far out of town to find those sheep who are lost and caught up in briar patches.  There they are.

The bottom line for me on this is that I need more of the heart of the Father.  My heart needs to break with the things that break the heart of God…that’s the lost.  He loves the found and cares for us deeply, but He longs for the lost to become found.

How about you?  Are you more comfortable around the “found”? Do you have the heart of the Father for others?

-Peter

Comments
  1. samantha says:

    I hate to equate this with Captain Kirk and Spock, when Spock realized the good of the one outweighs the good of the many, because the good of the one ‘IS’ the good of the many. But this lesson crosses over so many facets in life. Whether it be God, or helping someone who is down just to get them back up. This is how I feel about the world. People in general (especially Americans) are becoming so narcissistic because we have lost sight of the notion that charity makes the giver feel good. Not from notoriety, but just doing something good because it is right. Blind charity, the one on one kind, will do more in the plight to save souls than ever preaching His name.

    • pbonanno says:

      Preach the gospel at all times…if necessary use words. (St. Francis). Modeled by Jesus for us to follow.

  2. mtnbiker1224 says:

    Pastor Peter I to was moved to action by your message a few weeks ago , and made a commitment to reach out make the effort try a little harder to do something to make a difference , and you know what since I made that commitment the Lord has been sending them to me he still is doing the leg work and all I have to do is open my mouth at the right time.God is so good and he blesses you ten fold when your obedient to him and his word.
    Amen
    JAB

    • pbonanno says:

      See how God is…as long as we say yes and cooperate, He opens the doors. It’s not nearly as hard as we think just to believe Him!

Leave a Reply

